Zagreb, 21.06.2018 - U crkvi. sv. Marka Svetu misu za Domovinu služio je zagrebački nadbiskup kardinal Josip Bozanić. Na euharistijskome slavlju sudjelovali su predsjednica Republike Kolinda Grabar-Kitarović, predsjednik Hrvatskoga sabora Gordan Jandroković, predsjednik Vlade Republike Hrvatske Andrej Plenković i drugi dužnosnici. Na fotografiji (L-D) Damir Krstičević, Željko Reiner, Andrej Plenković, Gordan Jandroković i Kolinda Grabar Kitarević. foto HINA /Zvonimir KUHTIĆ/ zk

Marking of Statehood Day

The Croatian Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Defence Damir Krstičević on 25 June 2018 attended the ceremonies marking the Statehood Day and the 27th anniversary of the proclamation of independence and sovereignty of the Republic of Croatia.

The marking commenced with the respects paid at the Memorial Altar for the Homeland and at the Mirogoj Cemetery in Zagreb, by the President of the Republic and the Supreme Commander of the Croatian Armed Forces Kolinda Grabar-Kitarović, the Speaker of the Croatian Parliament Gordan Jandroković  and the Prime Minister Andrej Plenković and the respective delegations.

The wreathlaying ceremony was also held at the Central Cross of the Croatian Defenders and the Common Grave of Unidentified Victims of the Homeland War at the Crematory  Cemetery and at the Tomb of the 1st Croatian President  dr Franjo Tuđman.

The mass for the Homeland was celebrated by the Archbishop of Zagreb, Cardinal  Josip Bozanić in  the Zagreb Cathedral.

The ceremony of Grand Changing of the Guards, held in the St. Markl’s Square at noon attracted  the attention of many citizens.

The marking ceremonies  include the traditional evening reception given by the President of the Republic for the state officials. Diplomatic corps and the figures from  economy, cultural and public life in Croatia.

The Statehood Day is marked in honour of 25 June 1991, when the Croatian Parliament  made the historic decision on the dissociation from the rest of the  republics of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, based on the sweeping majority of citizens  votes in the  referendum of 19 May 1991.